Big 12 Announces Postseason Softball Awards

Lauren Bay was named the Big 12 Player of the Year and earned first-team All-Big 12 accolades along with Ryan Realmuto, it was announced Thursday by the league at the pre-tournament banquet in Oklahoma City. Both Bay and Realmuto have earned all-conference recognition in each of their four years at Oklahoma State.


Bay snagged Player of the Year honors after an impressive season on the mound and at the plate. The senior holds the top spot in nearly every pitching category at Oklahoma State and is second on the squad with a .307 batting average.


The Trail, B.C., Canada, native became the first hurler at OSU to reach the 1,000 strikeout mark, sitting down the first two batters she faced in the Missouri contest to hit the plateau.


She also has 375 fans so far in 2003 to set a new season strikeout record. The single game record is Bay’s as well, she fanned 23 in an extra-inning battle with Kansas.


Realmuto, a Del City, Okla., native has started every contest in her four-year career at Oklahoma State, 194 straight. She has come on strong in conference play, improving her batting average from .256 to .327 in league games.


The senior is second in career doubles, home runs, total bases, runs batted in and walks in the record books at OSU.


Academic All-Big 12 teams were also announced with eight Cowgirls making the first-team and two on the second-team.


First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.2 or better grade-point average, while the second team are those who have a 3.0 to 3.19 GPA.


First-team members are Lauren Bay, Cami Carter, Tiffany Foreman, Ryan Realmuto, Calli Behmer, Jade Lindly, Megan Carey and Erika Ennis. Brooke Siebel and Stephanie Hodges earned second-team honors to round out the group.


Oklahoma State begins play in the Big 12 Tournament at 7:30 p.m. against the winner of the Iowa State-Baylor contest as Don Porter ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.


Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Davis, Mikkelson Named to NFCA All-Region Team


Four Cowgirls Earn All-Big 12 Accolades


Weather Forces Conclusion of Cowgirls' Season


Vivid Seats United Verizon