Cowgirls Advance To Big 12 Championship

March 30, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan.-- The Oklahoma State equestrian team defeated the Kansas State Wildcats, 9-7, in the semifinals at the Big 12 Championship Friday.

"The girls are on track to do what they set out to do and I am very proud of the way they rode," coach Larry Sanchez said. "A&M will be a tough opponent; it will make for an exciting day."

The hunter seat team came out on top, 5-3, while the western team won in raw scores, 1113-1007.5, resulting in the two-point overall victory.

The Cowgirls kicked off the day winning the first two head-to-head points and finishing with a 2-2 deadlock in equitation over fences. Samantha Elser won the first head-to-head of the morning, 157-151. Allie Joyce followed with a 167-165 victory.

"I am so proud of the hunt seat team for keeping our confidence up and taking care of business," Elser said.

Oklahoma State increased its lead with a 3-1 victory in equitation on the flat. Ali Rose and Samantha Harrison won the first two possible points and Ellie Sparks picked up a 152-150 win to ensure the victory for the Pokes.

"The girls really kept their heads in the game and pulled out a huge victory," Harrison said.

Katy Krshka and Lauren Halvorson both won in horsemanship, leading the Cowgirls to a 2-2 tie in the discipline.

Oklahoma State needed two team points in reining to lock up the overall victory, and got those by way of seniors Caroline Daniels and Rachel Houchin.

With the win the Cowgirls advanced to take on Texas A&M in a rematch of last year's Big 12 Championship final. Oklahoma State has advanced to the final three times in the last four years. This will be the third time the Cowgirls and Aggies have met at the Big 12 Championship, splitting the previous two meetings.



With a victory the Pokes would become the first program in conference history to win multiple conference championships. OSU won the inaugural Big 12 Championship in 2009. This will also be the first time in championship history that the host school has not won the overall title (OSU 2009, BAY 2010, TAMU 2011).

Tomorrow's championship action will kick off at 10 a.m. CST.

Keep up with the Cowgirls' action with live updates on and follow the Pokes on twitter @OSUEquestrian.

Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Cowgirl Equestrian Releases 2015-16 Schedule


Cowgirl Equestrian Adds Blumer to Coaching Staff


Cowgirl Equestrian Inks Two


Vivid Seats United Verizon