Andrea Riley Named Nation's Top Point Guard

Andrea Riley

Andrea Riley

April 2, 2010

DETROIT, Mich. - Oklahoma State's Andrea Riley has been named the 2010 recipient of the Nancy Lieberman Award it was announced today by the Rotary Club of Detroit.

The award recognizes the nation's top collegiate point guard in women's Division I basketball.  The criteria for the award are the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills that personified Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman during her career. Sportswriters from across the country determined the award winner and finalists.

"It is an honor to win such a prestigious award. I could not have achieved this without my family, teammates and coaching staff," Riley said. "It makes it even more special to win an award named after Nancy Lieberman because she has been a great friend and inspiration to me."

A second-team Associated Press All-American, Riley finished her senior season as the nation's second leading scorer at 26.7 points per game. Riley's scoring average led the Big 12 by more than six points per game and made her the first player to pace the conference in scoring three times.

Riley also finished seventh nationally and first in the Big 12 with her 6.5 assists per game.

The Dallas, Texas native scored 909 points this past season, which stands as the 10th-best single-season total in NCAA history. Additionally, she tallied 220 assists, which stands as the fourth-best single-season total in Big 12 history.

Riley scored 40 points on three occasions this season, all of which came against ranked teams. She now has four of the top six scoring games in league history.

A three-time All-Big 12 pick, she also dished out 17 assists to tie the league's single-game record.

The 5-5 guard led the Cowgirls to a 24-11 mark this past season and their third NCAA Tournament berth in the last four years.

Riley finished her career with 2,835 points, the 13th-best total in NCAA history and 707 assists, which ranks first all time in school history.

It was announced yesterday she was one of 14 players invited to next week's WNBA Draft where it is expected she will become the first player in program history taken in the draft.

The other three finalists for the award were Samantha Prahalis of Ohio State, Oklahoma's Danielle Robinson and Courtney Vandersloot of Gonzaga.  

Year        Winner                      
2009        Renee Montgomery, Connecticut
2008        Kristi Toliver, Maryland
2007        Lindsey Harding, Duke
2006        Ivory Latta, North Carolina
2005        Temeka Johnson, LSU
2004        Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
2003        Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
2002        Sue Bird, Connecticut
2001        Sue Bird, Connecticut
2000        Sue Bird, Connecticut





Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Rebecca Kates-Taylor Named To Cowgirl Staff


Cowgirls Add Alana Simon


Karli Wheeler Named Player of the Year


Vivid Seats United Verizon