Klimara, Crutchmer Win Titles at UCM Open

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—The Oklahoma State wrestling team picked up two titles at the Central Missouri Open at the UCM Multipurpose Building on Sunday.

Eddie Klimara breezed through the 125-pound bracket with three of his five wins being major decisions, including his championship bout against Missouri’s Zach Synon. Kyle Crutchmer picked up his second 174-pound title of the year, starting the day with a fall and a major decision.

There were two second-place finishers in Case Garrison and Nolan Boyd at 141 and 184, respectively, and Jordan Rogers, the 2012 Junior Wade Schalles Award winner, picked up five falls out of his six wins on his way to finishing third in the 184 bracket. Austin Schafer also finished third in the 197 weight class.

One of the highlights of the day was Connor Baxter’s five second fall over Zach McClure of Benedictine, setting a new school record for the fastest fall. The previous record was held by Jared Rosholt’s six second pin at the 2009 UCM Open.

Of the Cowboys’ 56 wins for the day, 33 were bonus point wins, and 19 of those were pins.

The Cowboys will return to Missouri next weekend to compete in the Lindenwood Open.

Central Missouri | Oklahoma State Results
125: Eddie Klimara (1st), Gunnar Woodburn (did not place)
133: Brian Crutchmer (4th), Austin Hood (did not place)
Case Garrison (2nd), Lincoln Lemon (did not place)
Connor Baxter (did not place)
Colton Thomas (4th)
Sam Mehan (did not place)
174: Kyle Crutchmer (1st)
Nolan Boyd (2nd), Jordan Rogers (3rd), Landry Chappell (did not place)
Austin Schafer (3rd)

Championship Finals
125: Eddie Klimara, Oklahoma State, MD Zach Synon, Missouri-unattached, 17-5
133: Patrick Myers, Southern Illinois-Edwardsville, dec. Matt Manley, Missouri-unattached, 3-2
Trevor Jauch, Missouri, dec. Case Garrison, Oklahoma State, 4-1
Kyle Williams, MKU, MD Lavion Mayes, Missouri, 15-2
Greg Hegarty, MAU, dec.  Joey Moorhouse, MAU, 9-4
Jake Residori, Southern Illinois-Edwardsville, dec. Isaiah Gonzales, MKU, 6-1
174: Kyle Crutchmer, Oklahoma State, dec. Jordan Gagliano, Missouri, 3-1
John Eblen, Missouri, MD Nolan Boyd, Oklahoma State, 11-0
Matt Baker, MAU, dec. Kyle Reid, MKU, 3-2
Devin Mellon, Missouri dec. David Devine, Southern Illinois-Edwardsville, 6-3



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Scott, Foster Help the U.S. to Runner-Up Finish at 2015 Wrestling World Cup


Smith Named Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year


Dieringer Named Finalist for Hodge Trophy, Fan Voting Open


Vivid Seats United Verizon