Cowboys Win Four Titles at Oklahoma City Open

Nov. 4, 2012

Oklahoma City OpenGet Acrobat Reader

OKLAHOMA CITY--The Oklahoma State wrestling team brought home four individual titles from the team's first competition of the year at the Oklahoma City Open, held at OCU's Abe Lemons Arena on Sunday.

The first champion of the day was freshman Case Garrison, who picked up a major decision and a pin en route to winning the 141 bracket. He was followed by Josh Kindig, Kyle Crutchmer and Tyson Yoder, winning titles at 149, 174 and 285, respectively.

Austin Schafer had a runner-up finish in the 197 bracket, while freshmen Eddie Klimara and Brian Crutchmer placed third at 125 pounds and 133 pounds, respectively.

There were 20 bonus-point wins coming from the Cowboys, including 10 major decisions, nine falls and a technical fall.

The Cowboys will be back in action on Nov. 17 when they wrestle in the Lindenwood Open.

Oklahoma City Open | Championship Finals
125: Jarrod Patterson, Oklahoma-unattached, MD Kidd Gomez, Oklahoma City, 14-3
133: Cody Brewer, Oklahoma-unattached, dec. Casey Rowell, Central Oklahoma, 6-4
141: Case Garrison, Oklahoma State
, dec. Austin Quinton, Central Oklahoma, 8-1
149: Josh Kindig, Oklahoma State
, dec. Jordan Bask, Central Oklahoma, 5-3
Justin Deangelis, Oklahoma-unattached, inj. Cory Dauphin, Central Oklahoma
Zach Skates, Oklahoma City, dec. Gian Travarso, Missouri Valley, 7-4
174: Kyle Crutchmer, Oklahoma State
, dec. Kelley Henderson, Central Oklahoma, 3-1
Travis Rutt, Oklahoma, dec. Tanner Keck, Central Oklahoma, 7-2
Josh Manu, Missouri Valley, dec. Austin Schafer, Oklahoma State, 6-1
285: Tyson Yoder, Oklahoma State
, dec. Gabbi Musallam, Missouri Valley, 4-2

Oklahoma State Results                           
125: Eddie Klimara (3rd place), Connor Cline (4th place), Gunnar Woodburn (did not place)
Brian Crutchmer (3rd place), Austin Hood (did not place)
Case Garrison (1st place),  Lincoln Lemon (did not place)
Josh Kindig (1st place), Michael Martin (did not place), Connor Baxter (did not place)
Joe Ali (did not place), Colton Thomas (did not place)
Sam Mehan (did not place)
Kyle Crutchmer (1st place)
Nolan Boyd (4th place), Blace Walser (did not place), Quinten Patterson (did not place), Landry Chappell (did not place)
Austin Schafer (2nd place), Colton Hill (did not place)
Tyson Yoder (1st place)



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Scott, Foster Help the U.S. to Runner-Up Finish at 2015 Wrestling World Cup


Smith Named Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year


Dieringer Named Finalist for Hodge Trophy, Fan Voting Open


Vivid Seats United Verizon