Cowboys Win Reno Tournament of Champions

Jordan Oliver went 5-0 on the day with five first-period falls.

Jordan Oliver went 5-0 on the day with five first-period falls.

2011 RENO TOC Results Get Acrobat Reader

Dec. 18, 2011

RENO, Nev. – The No. 2 Oklahoma State wrestling team finished first at the 2011 Reno Tournament of Champions Sunday behind individual title performances from Jon Morrison at 125, Jordan Oliver at 133, Jamal Parks at 149, Chris Perry at 184 and Blake Rosholt at 197 pounds.

The Cowboys scored 166 points at the event and finished more than 50 points better than second-place Wyoming.

Oliver, competing in his first tournament of the season, turned in by far the most dominant performance at the event. Not only did the undefeated junior go 5-0, but he earned a first-period fall in each of his matches, continuing a streak that has lasted every bout of his 8-0 season. The longest an opponent has lasted this year against the Easton, Pa., native is just 2:38, while Oliver’s quickest pin came today in just 47 seconds.

Morrison went 5-0 at the tournament to improve his overall mark to 9-2. Highlights from his day included a technical fall in the first round and a major decision in the semifinals.

Parks also went 5-0 on the day, including a fall and a pair of major decisions, to improve to 13-0 on the season.

The 184-pound bracket gave Perry a first-round bye and a four wins with two major decisions. The Stillwater native improves to 11-0 on the year after today’s performance.

Rosholt earned OSU’s final individual title after he went from his No. 6 seed to the last name on the bracket with a 5-0 performance to improve to 11-1. His victories included a fall, a technical fall and a major decision.

Other OSU athletes who placed at the event included second-place finishers Ladd Rupp (125 pounds), Dallas Bailey (165 pounds) and Cayle Byers (197 pounds); third-place finishers Josh Kindig (141 pounds) and  Alan Gelogaev (heavyweight); and fifth-place finisher Albert White (157 pounds).

The Oklahoma State wrestling team returns to action Dec. 30 when the Cowboys take on Boise State in Idaho.

2011 Reno Tournament of Champions

Oklahoma State Results
125 – Jon Morrison (1st place), Ladd Rupp (2nd place)
133 – Jordan Oliver (1st place)
141 – Josh Kindig (3rd place), Luke Silver (did not place), Julian Feikert (did not place)
149 – Jamal Parks (1st place)
157 – Albert White (5th place)
165 – Dallas Bailey (2nd place)
174 – Chris McNeil (did not place)
184 – Chris Perry (1st place)
197 – Blake Rosholt (1st place), Cayle Byers (2nd place)
285 – Alan Gelogaev (3rd place)

Final Team Standings
Pl      School                        Pts
1       Oklahoma State     166
2       Wyoming                  115.5
3       Oregon State             105
4       Binghamton              68.5
5       Michigan State           66
6       Cal Poly                    57.5
7       West Virginia             52.5
8       Ohio                         48
9       Air Force                    47.5
10      Boise State               44.5
11      Southern Oregon       39
12      Appalachian State      38
13      Arizona State             37
14      Great Falls                 23.5
15      MSU Northern             17
16      CSU Bakersfield          15.5
17      Stanford                    15.5
18      Clackamas                 12.5
19      SW Oregon CC           10.5
20      Adams State               9.5





Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Cormier Wins UFC Belt


Cowboy Wrestlers Earn NWCA Academic Honors


Dieringer Wins in Times Square


Vivid Seats United Verizon