Cowboys Fall in NWCA National Duals Final

Feb. 19, 2012


STILLWATER, Okla. – The No. 1-ranked Oklahoma State wrestling team suffered its first loss of the season Sunday evening in the NWCA National Duals championship match, as the Cowboys dropped an 18-13 decision to No. 3 Minnesota in front of 4,453 fans at Gallagher-Iba Arena.

The Cowboys (16-1) were shorthanded without the availability of third-ranked Alan Gelogaev at heavyweight, but managed to beat No. 5 Illinois, 19-15, earlier today in the semifinal to reach the championship against the Golden Gophers (14-3).

OSU won four bouts in the final, highlighted by top-ranked 133-pounder Jordan Oliver, who scored an 11-3 major decision over No. 8 Chris Dardanes, as well as third-ranked 174-pounder Chris Perry, who kept his undefeated record perfect at 23-0 with a 4-0 win over No. 4 Logan Storley.

Senior 149-pounder Jamal Parks also had an impressive performance. After falling behind 5-0, the Tulsa native stormed back for an 11-8 decision over No. 11 Dylan Ness to add three points to the Pokes’ team score.

Albert White added a decision at 157 pounds with a 9-7 victory over Daniel Zilverberg on the way to the Cowboys building a 13-9 lead, but Minnesota’s final three wrestlers, all ranked in the top-10, managed decisions to seal the Gopher win.

After Sunday’s action, OSU now holds a 60-12 all-time record at the NWCA National Duals, and its 12 championship appearances are four more than any other school.

Iowa won the third-place match with a 28-6 win over Illinois.

Oklahoma State is back in action Friday, Feb. 24, as the Cowboys wrap up the dual portion of the season against the Missouri Tigers at 7 p.m. in Gallagher-Iba Arena.




No. 3 Minnesota 18, No. 1 Oklahoma State 13
Feb. 19, 2012 | 6 p.m. CST | Gallagher-Iba Arena
Records: Oklahoma State 16-1 (5-0 Big 12); Minnesota 14-3 (8-1 Big Ten)
Attendance: 4,453

Bout Results
Dual started at 125 pounds
125: No. 2 Zach Sanders (Minn) dec. No. 14 Jon Morrison (OSU); 5-2
133: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD No. 8 Chris Dardanes (Minn); 11-3
141: No. 7 Nick Dardanes (Minn) dec. Julian Feikert (OSU); 10-4
149: No. 2 Jamal Parks (OSU) dec. No. 11 Dylan Ness (Minn); 11-8
157: No. 16 Albert White (OSU) dec. Daniel Zilverberg (Minn); 9-7
165: No. 15 Cody Yohn (Minn) dec. Dallas Bailey (OSU); 4-2;TB1
174: No. 3 Chris Perry (OSU) dec. No. 4 Logan Storley (Minn); 4-0
184: No. 7 Kevin Steinhaus (Minn) dec. No. 20 Chris McNeil (OSU); 4-1
197: No. 6 Sonny Yohn (Minn) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU); 3-1
285: No. 4 Tony Nelson (Minn) dec. Austin Marsden (OSU); 8-1


No. 4 Iowa 28, No. 5 Illinois 6
Feb. 19, 2012 | 2 p.m. CST | Gallagher-Iba Arena
Records: Iowa 14-4 (7-3 Big Ten); Illinois 16-4 (6-4 Big Ten)
Attendance: 4,453

Bout Results
Dual started at 125 pounds
125: No. 1 Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. No. 6 Jesse Delgado (Illinois); 6-3
133: No. 3 Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. No. 4 B.J. Futrell (Illinois); 5-2
141: No. 4 Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. Daryl Thomas (Illinois); 6-2
149: Eric Terrazas (Illinois) dec. Mike Kelly (Iowa); 3-2
157: Derek St. John (Iowa) fall Jackson Morse (Illinois); 3:14
165: No. 6 Michael Evans (Iowa) dec. No. 10 Conrad Polz (Illinois); 5-1
174: No. 9 Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. No. 10 Jordan Blanton (Illinois); 4-2
184: Grant Gambrall (Iowa) MD Tony Dallago (Illinois); 10-2
197: No. 17 Mario Gonzalez (Illinois) dec. Vinnie Wagner (Iowa); 11-6
285: No. 12 Bobby Telford (Iowa) dec. Pat Walker (Illinois); 5-0

Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Smith Named Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year


Dieringer Named Finalist for Hodge Trophy, Fan Voting Open


Dieringer Wins Second NCAA Championship


Vivid Seats United Verizon