Track With 22 Named to Academic All-Big 12 Team

May 8, 2012

IRVING, Texas – The Oklahoma State track and field program had 22 athletes named to the Academic All-Big 12 Team, the conference announced today.

The Cowgirls had 13 named to the first team, highlighted by Alyssa Henrichs and Caitlin Way nominated with 4.00 GPAs. Nine Cowboys were named first-team honorees, with Andrew Hudson earning a nomination with a perfect GPA.

Joining Henrichs and Way on the women’s side were Mihaela Bobos, Jackie Campos, Caileigh Glenn, Brooke Gritters, Victoria Hanna, Laura Heaton, Kate Kujawa, Jessica Lewis, Teran Mixon, Jessy Murphy and Natalja Piliusina.

Making the first team for the men were Raul Botezan, Kirubel Erassa, German Fernandez, Colby Lowe, Taylor Monaghan, Shane Moskowitz, Neal Smith and Nick Thorp.



The nomination for Mixon marks the fourth-consecutive season she’s been named to the first-team, while it is the third-straight year Lowe has been named to the first team. It also marks the second-straight season Way has earned first-team distinction with a 4.00 GPA.

Joining Way as two time honorees are Botezan, Fernandez, Monaghan, Gritters, Hanna, Heaton and Murphy.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Men’s Team

First Team
Raul Botezan (Jr.) – Economics – Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Kirubel Erassa (So.) – University Studies – Grayson, Ga.
German Fernandez (Sr.) – Sociology – Riverbank, Calif.
Andrew Hudson (So.)* – Secondary Education – Amarillo, Texas
Colby Lowe (Sr.) – Sports Management – Southlake, Texas
Taylor Monaghan (Jr.) – Physiology – Tulsa, Okla.
Shane Moskowitz (So.) – Marketing – Silverdale, Wash.
Neal Smith (So.) – Health Education and Promotion – Southlake, Texas
Nick Thorp (So.) – Mechanical Engineering – McKinney, Texas

Women’s Team

First Team
Mihaela Bobos (So.) – Economics – Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Jackie Campos (Jr.) – Health Education and Promotion – Santa Teresa, N.M.
Caileigh Glenn (So.) – Political Science – Newmarket, Ontario
Brooke Gritters (So.) – Health Education and Promotion – Pella, Iowa
Victoria Hanna (Jr.) – Physiology – Oshawa, Canada
Laura Heaton (Sr.) – Health Education and Promotion – Amarillo, Texas
Alyssa Henrichs (Sr.)* – Elementary Education – Beresford, S.D.
Kate Kujawa (Jr.) – Aerospace Engineering and Mechanical Engineering – Regina, Canada
Jessica Lewis (Jr.) – Psychology – Crowley, Texas
Teran Mixon (Sr.) – Health Education and Promotion – Coalgate, Okla.
Jessy Murphy (Jr.) – Nutritional Sciences with option Dietetics – Stillwater, Okla.
Natalja Piliusina (So.) – Economics – Klaipeda, Lithuania
Caitlin Way (So.)* – Physiology – Mitchell, S.D.

*Indicates candidate nominated with 4.00 GPA

Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Geberkidane earns spot on Team USA


OSU Track and Field Announces 2015-16 Signees


Noelle Crowned NCAA Champion


Vivid Seats United Verizon