Cowboys Set For Big 12 Championship

Patrick Winther

Patrick Winther

April 21, 2013

STILLWATER, Okla. - Oklahoma State's men's golf team will seek its 10th Big 12 title when the Big 12 Championship gets underway this week at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan.

OSU will begin play on Monday at 8 a.m. at the par-70, 6,759-yard layout and will be the tournament's No. 3 seed. The Cowboys will play with top-seeded Texas and No. 2 seed TCU. The 72-hole event will consist of 36 holes on Monday followed by 18 holes on Tuesday and Wednesday.

OSU's starting five will feature juniors Ian Davis, Kevin Dougherty and Talor Gooch as well as sophomore Patrick Winther and freshman Jordan Niebrugge.

Six of the Cowboys' nine Big 12 crowns have been won at Prairie Dunes, with OSU emerging victorious at the historic track in 1997, 1998, 2000, 2007, 2009 and 2011. The Cowboys also won league titles in 2005, 2008 and 2010.

The Cowboys have produced the event's individual medalist on eight occasions with Leif Westerberg (1997), Charles Howell (2000), Anders Hultman (2002), Hunter Mahan (2003), Pablo Martin (2007), Rickie Fowler (2008) and Morgan Hoffmann (2009, 2011) all taking top honors.

Overall, the Cowboys have won 54 league titles and have produced 46 individual champions in the 66-year history of the program.

Live scoring for the tournament will be available at



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
A Quick 9 With Jonathan Moore


The Week That Was for @OSUCowboyGolf


Hoffmann Ties For 27th At U.S. Open


Vivid Seats United Verizon