Bowl History
The tradition of Oklahoma State Cowboy Football spans several decades, and boasts one of the nation's top football powers of the 1940's, a rich bowl history that includes many of the most prestigious games in college football, ten conference championships, the 1988 Heisman Trophy, two Pro Football Hall of Famers, and a new commitment to reach even greater heights in the years to come.
Bowl History - Classic Era

Oklahoma A&M sophomore tailback whiz Bob Fenimore lived up to his All-America billings as the Cowboys bounced SWC champion TCU, 34-0, establishing the third-largest margin of victory in Cotton Bowl history. Fenimore, inducted into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame in 2007, scored on runs of one and seven yards and completed 6-of-12 passes for 137 yards.

Fullback Jim Spavital powered his way for 119 yards, including a 52 yard scoring bolt.

Meanwhile, the Poke defense smothered TCU, not allowing it past midfield until the second half.

Coach Jim Lookabaugh's muscular single-wing offense harvested 494 yards of total offense, while TCU could manage only 105. In the fourth period, A&M's reserves took over with Joe Thomas and Mack Creager adding touchdowns on short plunges.

Scoring Summary 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
Oklahoma A&M 14 0 7 13 34
Texas Christian 0 0 0 0 0
Scoring Plays
A&M - Fenimore 1-yard run (Creager kick)
A&M - Spavital 52-yard run (Creager kick)
A&M - Fenimore 8-yard run (Creager kick)
A&M - Thomas 1-yard run (Creager kick)
A&M - Creager 1-yard run (kick failed)
The Cowboy Way
Award Winners
Cowboys in the NFL
First Round Draft Picks
Super Bowl Cowboys
National Spotlight
Bowl Bound
Bowl History
Uniform History
Bowl History
Classic Era
Middle Years
The Triplets
Orange Renaissance
Mike Gundy Era

A capacity crowd of 75,000 gathered to watch the battle of All-Americans, Oklahoma A&M's Bob "Blond Bomber" Fenimore and St. Mary's "Squirmin'" Herman Wedemeyer.

Wedemeyer's 47-yard TD pass to Dennis O'Conner opened the scoring, but Fenimore matched it with a 28-yard toss to Cecil Hankins as the first quarter ended. Fenimore's short plunge gave A&M the lead for keeps, but just before the half, Wedemeyer lateralled to Fred DeSalvo, who weaved his way through Aggie defenders 44 yards for a touchdown. The conversion missed, and A&M led at halftime.

While the Cowboy passing game was off, the ground game produced another Fenimore TD plunge in the third period, and Jim Reynolds opened the fourth stanza by leaping a yard for a score. Reynolds winged a 20-yard TD pass to Joe Thomas in the final minutes to end the wild scoring derby.

In his battle with Wedemeyer, Fenimore got the best of the total offense struggle, netting 206 yards in 36 plays while Wedemeyer had 184 yards in 25 plays. Fenimore also punted four times for an average of 53.2 yards.

Scoring Summary 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
St. Mary's 7 6 0 0 13
Oklahoma A&M 7 7 6 13 33
Scoring Plays
SMC - O'Conner 47-yard pass from Wedemeyer
A&M - Hankins 28-yard pass from Fenimore
A&M - Fenimore 1-yard run
SMC - DeSalvo 44-yard run
A&M - Fenimore 1-yard run
A&M - Reynolds 1-yard run
A&M - Thomas 20-yard pass from Reynolds

Oklahoma A&M dominated St. Mary's in a battle between two top-ten football powers in the 1946 Sugar Bowl.

Only 15,069 fans braved chilling weather in Crump Stadium as the William & Mary Indians made the most of Oklahoma A&M's mistakes for a 20-0 win.

The Indians never got outside their own 36 yard line in the first half, but quarterback Tommy Korshcowski passed 12 yards to Lou Hoitsma in the third period for a touchdown. A Cowboy fumble set the stage for Korshcowski's 22-yard scoring aerial to Jack Bruce in the fourth period.

With A&M driving, Indian tackle Lou Creekmur picked off a deflected Bob Carey pass and rumbled 70 yards for the game's last tally. Jack Cloud was the only Indian rusher of the day, gaining 78 yards in 14 tries while Kenny Roof had 63 in seven cracks for the Cowboys.

Scoring Summary 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
Oklahoma A&M 0 0 0 0 0
William & Mary 0 0 6 14 20
Scoring Plays
W&M - Hoitsma 12-yard pass from Korschcowski
W&M - Bruce 22-yard pass from Korschcowski
W&M - Creekmur 70-yard interception return

A&M's defense held William & Mary at bay for most of the game, but costly turnovers doomed the Aggies in the second half.

Playing on a baseball diamond and in tennis shoes, Oklahoma State's ground game, behind Duane Wood and Forrest Campbell, staked the Pokes to a 15-point lead, and a rock-ribbed defense surrendered a late TD.

Wood scored both OSU touchdowns on rushes of one and 17 yards. But Campbell, who netted 130 yards on 26 carries, was chosen outstanding player of the game. Dick Soergel engineered the OSU offense while Vandiver Childs, Jim Howard, Sonny Keys, John Calvin, and Fred Latham manned a mauling Cowpoke defense. The game was televised over ABC-TV with Harry Wismer handling the play-by-play duties and Howard Cosell providing color commentary.

Only 7,000 frigid fans turned out for the first and last edition of the Bluegrass Bowl.

Scoring Summary 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Final
Florida State 0 0 0 6 6
Oklahoma State 0 7 8 0 15
Scoring Plays
OSU - D. Wood 17-yard run (J. Wood kick)
OSU - D. Wood 1-yard run (D. Wood from Soergel)
FSU - Meyer 39-yard pass from Majors (run failed)

Quarterback Dick Soergel also played for the 1959 baseball national championship team at Oklahoma State.


Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Vivid Seats United Verizon