Oklahoma State Puts Five On Coaches' All-Big 12 Team

Lane Taylor

Lane Taylor

Dec. 5, 2012

STILLWATER, Okla. - Headlined by unanimous selections Joseph Randle and Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State has five players on the 2012 First-Team All-Big 12 squad as chosen by the league's coaches, it was announced today.

Also securing first-team spots were kicker and punter Quinn Sharp (first-team honors at both positions for the second consecutive year) and defensive tackle Calvin Barnett.

Sharp was recognized as the Big 12 Co-Special Teams Player of the Year along with West Virginia return man Tavon Austin. Barnett was singled out as the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year and quarterback J.W. Walsh took home Offensive Freshman of the Year accolades.

Second-team honorees from Oklahoma State were fullback Kye Staley and kick returner/punt returner Justin Gilbert, with

2012 Big 12 Individual Honors (as voted by the coaches)

Offensive Player of the Year
Collin Klein, Kansas State, QB, Sr, Loveland, Colo.

Defensive Player of the Year
Arthur Brown, Kansas State, LB, Sr, Wichita, Kan.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, RB, So, Temple, Texas

Defensive Newcomer of the Year
Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, DT, Jr, Tulsa, Okla.

Offensive Freshman of the Year
J.W. Walsh, Oklahoma State, QB, Denton, Texas



Defensive Freshman of the Year
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE, Arlington, Texas (unanimous)

Co-Special Teams Players of the Year
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State, PK/P, Sr, Mansfield, Texas
Tavon Austin, West Virginia, KR/PR, Sr, Baltimore, Md.

Offensive Lineman of the Year
Cyril Richardson, Baylor, Jr, Fort Worth, Texas

Defensive Lineman of the Year
Meshak Williams, Kansas State, DE, Sr, Sylvester, Ga.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Nick Florence, Baylor, QB, Sr, Garland, Texas

Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year
Bill Snyder, Kansas State, 21st Season

2012 First-Team All-Big 12 Offense
QB Collin Klein K-State
RB Joseph Randle** Oklahoma State
RB John Hubert K-State
FB Trey Millard Oklahoma
WR Terrance Williams Baylor
WR Tavon Austin West Virginia
WR Stedman Bailey West Virginia
TE Travis Tannahill K-State
OL Cyril Richardson Baylor
OL Cornelius Lucas K-State
OL Gabe Ikard** [r1] Oklahoma
OL Lane Taylor** Oklahoma State
OL LaAdrian Waddle Texas Tech
PK Quinn Sharp [r1] Oklahoma State
KR/PR Tavon Austin West Virginia

2012 First-Team All-Big 12 Defense
DL Jake McDonough Iowa State
DL Meshak Williams K-State
DL Calvin Barnett Oklahoma State
DL Devonte Fields TCU
DL Stansly Maponga TCU
DL Alex Okafor [r1] Texas
LB A.J. Klein [r1] Iowa State
LB Jake Knott Iowa State
LB Arthur Brown** [r1] K-State
DB Ty Zimmerman K-State
DB Aaron Colvin Oklahoma
DB Tony Jefferson Oklahoma
DB Jason Verrett TCU
DB Kenny Vaccaro Texas
P Quinn Sharp [r1] Oklahoma State

[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season. **Unanimous Selection. A tie in voting created an additional first-team defensive line

2012 Second-Team All-Big 12 Offense
QB Geno Smith West Virginia
RB James Sims Kansas
RB Damien Williams Oklahoma
FB Kye Staley Oklahoma State
WR Chris Harper K-State
WR Kenny Stills [r2] Oklahoma
WR Darrin Moore Texas Tech
TE Jace Amaro Texas Tech
OL Tanner Hawkinson Kansas
OL Lane Johnson Oklahoma
OL Blaize Foltz TCU
OL Trey Hopkins Texas
OL Joe Madsen West Virginia
PK Anthony Cantele K-State
KR/PR Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State

2012 Second-Team All-Big 12 Defense
DL Adam Davis K-State
DL Vai Lutui K-State
DL David King Oklahoma
DL Chucky Hunter TCU
DL Kerry Hyder Texas Tech
LB Bryce Hager Baylor
LB Ben Heeney Kansas
LB Kenny Cain TCU
DB Cody Davis Texas Tech
DB Durrell Givens Iowa State
DB Sam Carter TCU
DB Bradley McDougald Kansas
DB D.J. Johnson Texas Tech
DB Demontre Hurst [r2] Oklahoma
P Kirby Van Der Kamp Iowa State

A tie in voting created an additional second-team defensive back spot. [r2] - Repeat second team selection from last season.

2012 All-Big 12 Honorable Mention From Oklahoma State
James Castleman (DL), Parker Graham (OL), Caleb Lavey (LB), Shaun Lewis (LB), Kevin Peterson (Def. FoY), Josh Stewart (WR)

Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
How I Got Here: Kevin Peterson


Arriving Early: Motekiai Maile


OSU Coaches vs. Cancer Golf Tourney Raises $61,000 in First Year


Vivid Seats United Verizon