Okung Named Big 12 O-Lineman of the Year

Russell Okung

Russell Okung

Dec. 1, 2009

STILLWATER, Okla. - Oklahoma State left tackle Russell Okung was named Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year today in a vote of the league's coaches.

One of three finalists for the Outland Trophy presented to the nation's top interior lineman, Okung has been the anchor of the Cowboy offense all year. Through 12 games this season, he has 127 knockdown blocks and 58 domination blocks. With 836 snaps played this year, has allowed only one sack and has yielded only two quarterback pressures.

During his career, Okung has paved the way for three different 1,000-yard running backs, clearing a path for Dantrell Savage in 2007, Kendall Hunter in 2008 and Keith Toston in 2009. The Cowboys have led the Big 12 in rushing offense in each of Okung's four years as a starter and each of those three running backs were recognized as first-team all-Big 12 selections running behind Okung.

One of the most durable players in the country, Okung leads all OSU players with 46 consecutive starts dating back to his freshman season. Twice in his career, Okung has tossed a shutout against the NCAA's sack leader. Texas A&M's Von Miller entered the OSU game as America's top pass rusher with nine sacks. Against Okung, he did not record a sack. In the 2007 Insight Bowl, Okung held Indiana's Greg Middleton, another NCAA sack leader, without a tackle.

Ranked No. 7 on the Nov. 25 installment of Mel Kiper's Big Board, he is the only offensive lineman listed among Kiper's top 25 overall players.



Pistol Pete's Partners Bedlam Series
Live Mas On The Road
Scoreboard Message Vivid Tickets
verizon united vivid