Sharp a Lou Groza Award Semifinalist Again

Quinn Sharp

Quinn Sharp

Nov. 5, 2012

STILLWATER, Okla. - For the second consecutive season, Oklahoma State's Quinn Sharp is one of 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Award presented to the nation's top kicker, it was announced today.

Sharp, the 2011 first-team All-America kicker by the Football Writers Association of America, leads all kickers this season with 11.75 points scored per game and also tops the national list with 2.25 field goals made per game.

He has converted on 18-of-23 field goal attempts and is a perfect 40-of-40 on PATs. Sharp is just 13 points shy of cracking into Oklahoma State's career scoring top 10.

Sharp has already been recognized as two-time Lou Groza Award Star of the Week this year, earning the recognition after scoring 17 points (three field goals and eight PATs) vs. Louisiana and after setting a school record with five field goals vs. TCU.

Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey won the Lou Groza Award in 2010.

Semifinalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, along with national and regional football writers and past Groza winners to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 19th and honored at the 21st annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 4th in West Palm Beach, Florida. The winner will be announced live on the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 6th.

2012 Lou Groza Award Semifinalists
Brett Baer, Louisiana
Casey Barth, North Carolina
Chris Boswell, Rice
Jeff Budzien, Northwestern
Anthony Cantele, Kansas State
Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson
Brian Davis, Arkansas State
Trey Farquhar, Idaho
Brendan Gibbons, Michigan
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma
Austin Lopez, San Jose State
Ross Martin, Duke
Mike Meyer, Iowa
Jaden Oberkrom, TCU
Cairo Santos, Tulane
Steven Schott, Ball State
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
Jeremy Shelley, Alabama
Caleb Sturgis, Florida



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Arriving Early: John Kolar


How I Got Here: Kevin Peterson


Arriving Early: Motekiai Maile


Vivid Seats United Verizon