Bryant Headlines Biletnikoff Watch List

Dez Bryant with Fred Biletnikoff. Bryant was the Biletnikoff Award runner-up in 2008.

Dez Bryant with Fred Biletnikoff. Bryant was the Biletnikoff Award runner-up in 2008.

Aug. 12, 2009

STILLWATER, Okla. - Oklahoma State wide receiver Dez Bryant is one of 37 players nationally included on the preseason watch list for the 2009 Biletnikoff Award, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced today. Bryant was the runner-up for the award last year.

A consensus first-team All-America honoree as a sophomore in 2008, Bryant has garnered numerous honors this preseason and is the overwhelming choice as the top receiver in the nation according to the media.

Bryant is coming off a sensational 2008 campaign in which he made 87 catches for 1,480 yards. He ranked second nationally with 19 touchdown receptions and was third nationally with 113.9 receiving yards per game. His 9.69 points per game ranked second in the country and his 17.94 yards per punt return placed him third in the nation.

The Biletnikoff Selection Committee will send out electronic ballots to voters. The first vote will determine the 10 semifinalists and will be announced on October 22. The 2nd vote will determine the top 3 finalists and will be announced on November 19th and the last vote to determine the recipient will take place on November 30th

All Voters for the Biletnikoff Award consist of Sports Writers who cover College Football on a National, Regional, or Conference Level, Past Award Winners of the Biletnikoff Award, and distinguished receivers of the past.

The recipient of the 2009 Biletnikoff Award will be announced live on ESPN on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, December 10th. The Biletnikoff Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the University Center Club at Florida State University in Tallahassee, Florida, on Saturday, February 13, 2010.

The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, the Florida State University All-America receiver and a Pro-Football Hall of Famer. The Biletnikoff Award has been given out for the past 15 years.

Oklahoma State on 2009 Preseason Watch Lists
Dez Bryant, Biletnikoff Award
Perrish Cox, Jim Thorpe Award
Kendall Hunter, Doak Walker Award
Russell Okung, Rotary Lombardi Award
Russell Okung, Outland Trophy
Zac Robinson, Davey O'Brien Award
Zac Robinson, Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award



2009 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
Kris Adams, UTEP
Seyi Ajirotutu, Fresno State
Brandon Banks, Kansas State
Doug Beaumont, Louisville
Arrelious Benn, Illinois
Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas
Antonio Brown, Central Michigan
DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Eric Decker, Minnesota
Jacoby Ford, Clemson
Cortez Gent, Florida Atlantic
Mardy Gilyard, Cincinnati
A.J. Green, Georgia
Rashaun Greer, Colorado State
DeAndre Goodwin, Washington
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Shay Hodge, Mississippi
Jerrel Jernigan, Troy
Demaris Johnson, Tulsa
Julio Jones, Alabama
Brandon LaFell, LSU
Detron Lewis, Texas Tech
Kerry Meier, Kansas
Dennis Pitta, BYU
Taylor Price, Ohio
Aldrick Robinson, SMU
Naaman Roosevelt, Buffalo
Greg Salas, Hawaii
Jordan Shipley, Texas
Jacory Stone, Eastern Michigan
Golden Tate, Notre Dame
Damian Williams, USC
Stephen Williams, Toledo
Ryan Wolfe, UNLV
Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Arriving Early: John Kolar


How I Got Here: Kevin Peterson


Arriving Early: Motekiai Maile


Vivid Seats United Verizon