Lowe Named To Thorpe Watch List

July 12, 2013


Oklahoma State senior safety Daytawion Lowe has been named to the Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.

Lowe, a product of Carl Albert High School in Midwest City, Okla., joins the recent parade of Cowboy defenders to be named to preseason watch lists, including Calvin Barnett, Justin Gilbert and Shaun Lewis.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe.  Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back.  In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.
In 2012, Lowe tied for the team lead with 75 tackles and had two interceptions. He also returned a fumble for a touchdown against Purdue in the Heart of Dallas Bowl. Lowe has started 26 consecutive games for the Cowboys and leads the team in total tackles since 2011.

The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, 2013 on ESPN. 

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 4, 2014 in Oklahoma City.



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Furman Drafted by Denver Broncos


Burns Hargis: Oklahoma State pleased to get to the truth


Arriving Early: Todd Mays


Vivid Seats United Verizon