Cowboy Football Honored At State House

Mike Gundy, Justin Blackmon and Dan Bailey were honored at the State House for their outstanding performances in 2010.

Mike Gundy, Justin Blackmon and Dan Bailey were honored at the State House for their outstanding performances in 2010.

March 8, 2011

Photo Gallery

OKLAHOMA CITY - The state Senate on Tuesday welcomed Oklahoma State University head football coach Mike Gundy and Cowboy football stars Justin Blackmon and Dan Bailey.

The Cowboys finished the 2010 season with an 11-2 record. Gundy was honored as the Big 12 Coach of the Year and was a finalist for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year award and the Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year award. The Senate on Monday approved three resolutions congratulating Gundy and his players on their accomplishments.

"We're very proud of everything this team accomplished on the field this season," said Sen. Jim Halligan, R-Stillwater. "More importantly, we're grateful for the way they admirably represented their state and University. We're honored to welcome Coach Gundy and these two exceptional student-athletes to the Senate Chamber."

Gundy, Blackmon and Bailey all expressed a sense of honor for being recognized by the Senate and the House.

"Oklahoma State football prides itself on good young men, and (Bailey and Blackmon) have accomplished a tremendous amount on the field," Gundy said. "Dan has already graduated and Justin is on track to graduate. These guys have gained national recognition, but they are good people and what they have accomplished both on and off the field is very neat. We're very excited about Oklahoma State football and it was a privilege for us to be (at the State House). We're proud to be at Oklahoma State and we're proud to be Oklahomans."

Blackmon established new Oklahoma State records in 2010 with 1,782 receiving yards, 20 touchdown catches and 111 receptions. He was honored with the Biletnikoff Award, distinguishing him as the nation's best collegiate receiver. Blackmon was also the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and a unanimous first-team All-America selection.

Bailey set a school record with 27 field goals in the 2010 season, converting 182 consecutive extra point attempts. He was named the Lou Groza Award winner as the nation's top collegiate kicker, and was honored as the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year. He finished his career as the fifth leading scorer in Big 12 history.

"The accomplishments of this team and coaching staff are a tremendous source of pride for our state," Halligan said. "I want to congratulate them on their well-deserved postseason honors. I'm particularly pleased Justin Blackmon has chosen to return to OSU next year to further his education and lead the Cowboys to another great season."



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Arriving Early: John Kolar


How I Got Here: Kevin Peterson


Arriving Early: Motekiai Maile


Vivid Seats United Verizon