Joe Wickline
Joe Wickline
Offensive Line

Ninth Year at OSU

Alma Mater:
Florida, 1983


Cowboys Football Spring Practice

Spring Practice Day


Oklahoma State Signs Two Junior College Linemen

Brandon Garrett, Sam Wren both slated to enroll for Spring, 2013 semester


Game Notes - Cowboys Cap Regular Season In Waco

Oklahoma State has won 15 of its last 16 meetings with Baylor.


OSU-West Virginia Post-Game Quotes


Football Practice Report - August 17

Wickline breaks down the Cowboy offensive line.

• Joe Wickline is in his ninth year at Oklahoma State and his 32nd year as a college football coach. He is regarded as one of America's elite offensive line coaches.

• Wickline has been at the heart of Oklahoma State offensive coaching staffs that led the Cowboys to top-20 national finishes in total offense in 2006 (16th), 2007 (seventh), 2008 (sixth), 2010 (third), 2011 (third) and 2012 (fourth).

• From 2010-12 alone, the Cowboys have scored more than 50 points 15 times, broke the 60-point mark in seven contests, the 70-point mark twice and the 80-point plateau once with Wickline's linemen in the trenches.

• He helped coach an Oklahoma State offense that has averaged at least 40 points per game in five of the last six seasons.

• Wickline's offensive line has paved the way for six consecutive first-team All-Big 12 running backs from 2007-12, a 1,000-yard rusher each of the past five seasons, a 1,000-yard receiver in six of the past seven seasons and a 3,000-yard passer in three of the past four seasons.

• He is one of the key figures on a staff that led OSU to a share of the Big 12 South title in 2010 and the outright conference crown in 2011. The Pokes appeared in - and won - their first-ever BCS bowl game with a victory over Stanford in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl to cap the 2011 season.

• Wickline coached the 2009 and 2011 recipients of Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year honors, with tackle Russell Okung securing the recognition in 2009 and center Grant Garner taking home the accolade in 2011.

• Since 2006, Oklahoma State has placed seven offensive linemen on the All-Big 12 first team squad, with Russell Okung earning unanimous All-America honors in 2009 and Levy Adcock securing consensus All-America recognition in 2011. Okung was the only offensive lineman included on the list of three finalists for the 2009 Outland Trophy.

• Oklahoma State's individual offensive players have benefitted enormously from Wickline's corps in recent seasons, with seven offensive players earning All-America honors from recognized outlets and 15 securing All-Big 12 first-team accolades since 2008 alone.

• With Wickline overseeing the offensive line, the Cowboys led the Big 12 in rushing every year from 2006-09 and have ranked in the top 20 nationally in fewest sacks allowed every year from 2006-12.

• With Wickline's linemen paving the way, Oklahoma State led the Big 12 and ranked second nationally in both scoring offense and passing offense in 2011. The Cowboys ranked third in the country in total offense.

• Wickline's work in 2010 was spectacular, as he took an offensive line that was replacing four starters and turned it into a group that paved the way for an Oklahoma State attack that ranked second nationally in passing offense with 345.8 yards per game, third nationally in total offense with 520.2 yards per game and third nationally in scoring with 44.2 points per game.

• With Wickline's offensive line leading the way, Oklahoma State had at least one running back rush for 100 yards or more in 15 consecutive games during one stretch of time spanning from the 2007 season through the 2008 season.

• In 2008, Wickline's charges helped running back Kendall Hunter to earn first-team All-America honors by the Football Writers Association of America and wide receiver Dez Bryant to earn first-team All-America honors by the Walter Camp Foundation and the American Football Coaches Association.

• Wickline helped Charlie Johnson make a successful transition to the tackle spot from tight end. Johnson became the first OSU offensive lineman selected in the NFL Draft since 1985 when Indianapolis took him in 2006. He went on to a solid rookie season and played a pivotal role in the Colts' Super Bowl win over Chicago.

• The 2006 offensive line helped the Cowboys average more than 35 points per game and for the first time ever, the Cowboys had four players rush for at least 500 yards.

• At Ole Miss (1988-1994), Wickline coached All-American Everett Lindsay, who went on to a long career with the Minnesota Vikings. At Florida, he coached five All-Americans, including first-teamers Lomas Brown, Shannon Snell and Jeff Zimmerman. Wickline also coached Max Starks, a former tackle for the Gators who now plays for the Pittsburgh Steelers.

• Wickline helped Florida's running game improve from 122.4 yards per game to 155.8 yards per game during his three years as offensive line coach. The 2004 Gator running game finished the regular season second in the SEC in yards per carry (4.5).

• He was the running game coordinator for Middle Tennessee in 2001 when Dwon Hicks broke the school record for single-season rushing touchdowns (20). The Blue Raiders also set new standards for total offense per game (481.4) and total offense per play (6.8) that season and ranked fifth nationally in total offense.

• Wickline played at Florida, where he was a three-year letterman. He was selected to play in the Blue-Gray Game following his Gator career. Wickline also lettered one season in wrestling.

• He was born Oct. 23, 1958, in St. Petersburg, Fla., and earned his bachelor's degree in health, physical education and recreation from Florida in 1983. He is married to the former Nicki Sturdivant and has three children, Lacey, Kelby and Lauren.

Wickline at a Glance
Year By Year

1982-1983: Florida, Graduate Assistant
1984: Tennessee, Graduate Assistant
1984-1987: Delta State, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
1988-1994: Mississippi, Offensive Line
1995: Pearl River CC, Offensive Line
1996: SW Miss. CC, Head Coach
1997-1998: Baylor, Offensive Line
1999-2001: Middle Tenn. State, Offensive Line/Running Game/Recruiting Coordinator
2002-2004: Florida, Offensive Line/Running Game Coordinator
2005-present: Oklahoma State, Offensive Line

Bowl Games
1982 Bluebonnet Bowl
1983 Gator Bowl
1984 Sun Bowl
1989 Liberty Bowl
1990 Gator Bowl
1992 Liberty Bowl
2003 Outback Bowl
2004 Outback Bowl
2004 Peach Bowl
2006 Independence Bowl
2007 Insight Bowl
2008 Holiday Bowl
2010 Cotton Bowl
2010 Alamo Bowl
2012 Fiesta Bowl
2013 Heart of Dallas Bowl

Prominent Pupils
Levy Adcock, New York Giants
Lomas Brown, Detroit Lions
Derrick Fletcher, Jacksonville Jaguars
Kelvin Garmon, Dallas Cowboys
Grant Garner, Washington Redskins
Corey Hilliard, Indianapolis Colts
Charlie Johnson, Indianapolis Colts
David Koenig, Oklahoma State
Everett Lindsay, Arizona Cardinals
Russell Okung, Seattle Seahawks
Max Starks, Pittsburgh Steelers

Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Arriving Early: John Kolar


How I Got Here: Kevin Peterson


Arriving Early: Motekiai Maile


Vivid Seats United Verizon