Cowboys Win Tourney Title

Center fielder Gabe Weidenaar was named the DQ Classic Most Outstanding Player

Center fielder Gabe Weidenaar was named the DQ Classic Most Outstanding Player

March 6, 2011

Box Score | Box Score Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. - Oklahoma State knocked off host Minnesota, 16-2, Sunday at Kino Veterans Memorial Stadium to claim the 2011 Dairy Queen Classic title.

Five different players collected multiple RBIs for OSU as the Cowboys set a season high for runs and improved to 8-3 on the season.

OSU center fielder Gabe Weidenaar was named the DQ Classic Most Outstanding Player, while right fielder Luis Uribe won the tourney's Silver Stick Award. Joining that duo on the all-tournament team were Cowboy first baseman Zach Johnson, shortstop Hunter Bailey, designated hitter Dane Phillips and pitcher Andrew Heaney.

Weidenaar was 4-for-6 against the Golden Gophers, while Johnson, Uribe and Mark Ginther each collected three hits. Johnson, Ginther and Devin Shines led OSU with three RBIs apiece.

OSU junior Blake Barnes picked up his first-career win with 2.1 scoreless innings in relief of starter Hunter Herrera, who worked the first 4.2 innings and allowed just one earned run on seven hits.

Minnesota (4-5) took an early lead with a run in the bottom of the first inning. A.J. Pettersen led off with a single. After a strikeout, Justin Gominsky laid down a bunt single, but an errant throw by Herrera allowed Pettersen to advance to third. The error would prove costly as Nick O'Shea brought Pettersen home with a sacrifice fly.

Right fielder Luis Uribe won the tourney's Silver Stick Award

The Cowboys would answer in the top of the second. Three-straight singles to open the frame loaded the bases before Ginther fouled out for the first out of the inning. Up next, Uribe continued his hot hitting with a two-RBI double down the left field line to put OSU on top, 2-1.

OSU was unable to continue the rally, however, as Jared Womack was thrown out at the plate on a ground ball before Bailey struck out to end the inning with a pair of Cowboys still on base.

The Cowboys would rally again in the third. Davis Duren led off the inning with a walk and advanced to third on a single by Phillips. A sacrifice fly by Johnson made the score 3-1, and a pair of RBI doubles added to the lead. The first came from Womack, an opposite-field shot that plated Phillips, and Ginther followed that with a ball that stayed just inside the third base line and brought home two more runs to give OSU a 6-1 lead.

The offensive onslaught by the Cowboys continued in the fifth as they tallied their second four-run inning of the day, getting RBIs from Bailey, Womack and Ginther.

OSU scored in each of the final three innings to cruise to the win.

The Cowboys return to action Tuesday when they host St. Gregory's at Allie P. Reynolds Stadium at 4 p.m.



Pistol Pete Vivid Seats Bedlam Taco Bell Digital Guide Get Your Message on the Scoreboard
Cowboys Advance To Title Game At Big 12 Championship


Cowboys Top K-State, Remain In Winner's Bracket


Cowboys Shut Out West Virginia In Big 12 Tourney Opener


Vivid Seats United Verizon